Ohio Wesleyan University

Golden Bishop Awards Honor OWU Students

18 Apr , 2022  

Award recipients include Delaware Countian

By Cole Hatcher

Ohio Wesleyan University is honoring students with Golden Bishop Awards in recognition of their outstanding achievements in leadership, community service, and campus involvement during the current academic year.

Students recognized April 12 at an on-campus ceremony and their awards are as follows:


  • The Bridge Builder Award
    • Jeremiah Anderson of Dayton, Ohio
    • Clay Sturts of Mansfield, Ohio
  • The Sara Paullin Casto Student Humanitarian Award
    • Horizons International, which works to “enhance understanding and dialogue between international students and the broader campus community.”
  • The Charles J. Ping Student Service Award
    • Anna Fender of Sullivan, Illinois
  • The Patricia G. Young Award for Leadership in Service to Children and Youth
    • Allyson Amstutz of Orrville, Ohio


  • The Nancy Bihl Rutkowski Courage Award
    • Samuel Ryba of Worthington, Ohio
    • Isabel Solowiej of Amherst, Ohio
  • Student Organization Community Impact Recognition
    • Campus Programming Board
    • Circle K (college branch of Kiwanis International)
  • Student Organization Advisor Recognition
    • Laurie Patton, adviser for the Ski and Snowboarding Club


  • Best New Member
    • Jenna Norman of Wilmington, Ohio
  • Best Overall Member
    • Chloe Hunt of Hudson, Ohio
  • Social Justice Steward
    • Sisi Fish of Sheboygan, Wisconsin
  • Donald G. Chenoweth Friend of WCSA Award
    • Brad Pulcini, dean of Student Services


  • Outstanding Resident Assistant/Moderator
    • Hayden Houpt of Marion, Ohio
    • Jess Nichols of Colden, New York
    • Mack Wade of East Liverpool, Ohio
  • Heart of the Community Award, recognizing work to bring students together inside and outside of their campus residences through creative and engaging programmatic opportunities
    • Sexuality and Gender Equity House (SAGE)


  • Community Impact Awards
    • Kappa Alpha Theta (for International Pronouns Day)
    • Kappa Kappa Gamma (for its Let’s Talk about Mental Health event and for its Sisterhood event with Turning Point, which supports victims of domestic violence)
  • Emerging Leaders of the Year
    • Halima Elmajdoubi of Hilliard, Ohio (Delta Gamma)
    • Maximus Swartz of Poughkeepsie, New York (Sigma Phi Epsilon)
  • Members of the Year
    • Chase Dusek of McKinney, Texas (Phi Gamma Delta)
    • Henry Tikkanen of Hudson, Ohio (Chi Phi)
    • Erin Huber of Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio (Delta Zeta)
    • Julia Shorey of Cleveland, Ohio (Kappa Alpha Theta)
  • Academic Excellence
    • Delta Gamma
    • Kappa Alpha Theta
    • Sigma Phi Epsilon


Recognizing seniors for exceptional leadership while at Ohio Wesleyan and the promise of exceptional leadership in the future, the Meek Leadership Award is OWU’s premier student honor. It includes a financial gift.

  • Danielle Black of Proctorville, Ohio
  • Veronica Cody of Somerset, Ohio
  • Anna Fender of Sullivan, Illinois
  • Mohammad Niazi of Karachi, Pakistan
  • Megan Sheradin of North Canton, Ohio
  • Mallorie Watts of Delaware, Ohio

Watch the 2021-2022 Golden Bishop Awards online and learn more about the annual celebration of excellence at owu.edu/GoldenBishopAwards.

Photo: Ohio Wesleyan’s 2021-2022 Golden Bishop Award recipients are accomplished leaders who have made a positive difference on campus and beyond. Congratulations to these outstanding Bishops! (Photo by Paul Vernon)

Become a 1808Delaware Newsroom Partner and support
independent media in Delaware County. Details here.

, ,

Comments are closed.