Westerville is getting serious about its hydrants.

The City’s Hydrant Flushing Program will run around the clock in order to flush the more than 2,471 hydrants in the City’s system. All hydrants are flushed once a year to help clear the water lines of particulates that may build up over time. Crews also check the hydrants and valves for any operational issues which need to be addressed in order to keep the hydrants in good working order.

Residents may notice a brownish tint to their water after the hydrants in their neighborhood have been flushed. If so, run the water through a tap for a few minutes and it should clear up. Residents may also want to run their washer through a rinse cycle once before doing laundry.

Please contact the Westerville Department of Public Service at (614) 901-6740 with any questions, concerns, or help in determining when hydrants will be flushed. The Department is open Monday through Friday, 7 AM to 4 PM.

 HYDRANT FLUSHING SCHEDULE
Week One Week Two
Sun, April 18, 2021 Sun, April 25, 2021
Mon, April 19, 2021 Mon, April 26, 2021
Tues, April 20, 2021 Tues, April 27, 2021
Wed, April 21, 2021 Wed, April 28, 2021
Thurs, April 22, 2021 Thurs, April 29, 2021
Fri, April 23, 2021 Fri, April 30, 2021

1808AM
Sign up here for 1808AM, our incredible weekday morning enewsletter, bringing you the latest Delaware County news -- for free!
You May Also Like

Westerville District-Wide Virtual Art Show Live Through April

The ongoing pandemic has brought a new awareness of the usefulness of…

Celebrating The Fourth In Westerville

By 1808Delaware, 1808AI This year, the Rotary Club of Westerville is hosting…

Westerville Hydrant Flushing Has New Schedule

The Annual Hydrant Flushing Program is set to start in Westerville. The…

Westerville Police, Mayor’s Court Complete Move To New Justice Center

By 1808Delaware The City of Westerville has completed renovation and expansion of…