By 1808Delaware

The Westerville Education Association (WEA) hosted its annual Spring Reception on May 1, celebrating the exceptional contributions of educators throughout the 2023-24 school year. The event, held with much fanfare, recognized the distinguished efforts of the Educators of the Year and bid a heartfelt farewell to 14 retiring teachers, marking their enduring legacy in the district.

Leadership and Commendations

The reception was presided over by WEA President Kelly Modlich, with notable speeches from Interim Superintendent Angela Hamberg and Board of Education President Kristy Meyer. Their addresses highlighted the significant impacts of educators on the community and the continued commitment to excellence in Westerville schools.

Friends of Education Award

A special highlight of the evening was the presentation of the WEA’s Friends of Education Award. This year, the honor was bestowed upon Lisa Rutherford, Stephanie Martin, and the Sunrise and Noon Rotary Club of Westerville’s I CAN Program. These recipients have made substantial contributions to the educational environment in Westerville, supporting innovative programs and fostering an inclusive educational community.

Celebrating Retirees

The event also paid tribute to the careers of 14 retiring educators, each of whom has left an indelible mark on their students and the school community. Among the honored were Tawnya Barton, Connie Craigmile, and Beth Dalin, along with other esteemed colleagues whose dedication has shaped countless lives over their illustrious careers.

2023-24 Educators of the Year

The highlight of the reception was the announcement of the Educators of the Year, an award recognizing outstanding teaching and dedication across all grade levels:

  • Elementary School: From Meaghan McEwen at Alcott to Lindy Butler and Justice Crank at Wilder, each educator has demonstrated exceptional skill and commitment.
  • Middle School: Educators like Marcia Childs from Blendon and Tricia Rose Hall from Walnut Springs were lauded for their innovative teaching methods and the positive environments they foster in their classrooms.
  • High School: At the high school level, Jennifer Kiko, Laura Ferguson, and their peers have been recognized for their excellence in fostering academic achievement and inspiring students toward greater heights.

As the Westerville Education Association looks to the future, the annual Spring Reception not only honors those who have contributed greatly but also ignites a passion for ongoing excellence in education within the community. The event serves as a reminder of the vital role educators play in shaping the leaders of tomorrow.

Image by Aurélia from Pixabay

Sign up here for 1808AM, our incredible weekday morning enewsletter, bringing you the latest Delaware County news -- for free!
You May Also Like

DACC Observes National Manufacturing Day With Local Business Tours

DACC is committed to empowering, preparing, inspiring, and connecting students to future opportunities.

Two New Marching Bands Strutting Their Stuff This Season: Video

We’re well into the football season here in Delaware County, and two…

Over $250,000 In Security Upgrade Funding Coming For Delaware County Schools

By 1808Delaware; Governor DeWine Press Release Ohio Governor Mike DeWine has announced…

Otterbein, Antioch Chart Exciting New Course

Special to 1808Delaware There was some exciting news academic news this past…