Three Area Officials Become OHSAA Hall Of Famers

11 Oct , 2021  

Special to 1808Delaware

Fifteen individuals were honored for their induction into the Ohio High School Athletic Association Officials Hall of Fame on October 2. Three area officials were included.

The OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame Committee delayed the 2020 celebration due to COVID-19 pandemic. The OHSAA also recognized the 2019-20 and 2020-21 Officials of the Year at the banquet.

Each of the 15 Hall of Fame inductees was honored for outstanding officiating careers and significant contributions to interscholastic officiating in Ohio. More information on the OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame is posted at:

“In addition to being outstanding officials in their chosen sports, these 15 individuals have mentored countless other officials along the way,” said Beau Rugg, OHSAA Director of Officiating and Sport Management and himself a member of the Hall of Fame.

“Officiating is a service to student-athletes, coaches, schools and other officials and it is a joy to recognize these highly respected individuals with induction into the OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame.”

2020 OHSAA Officials Hall of Fame Induction Class:

  • Larry Black, Westerville (SB)
  • Robert Brammer, Dublin (FB, BK)
  • Don Green, Delaware (BK, BB, SB)
  • Don Giffin, St. Clairsville (FB, BK)
  • George Gulas, Medina (BK, BB, SB)
  • Michael Vaschak, Youngstown (FB, BK) (Deceased)
  • John Vicarel, Youngstown (FB, SO, VB, BK, BB, SB)
  • Truman Claytor, Toledo (BK)
  • Mark King, Fremont (FB, BK, BB)
  • Ken Myers, Fremont (FB)
  • Michael Poole, Maumee (FB)
  • Danny Oates, Chillicothe (FB, BK)
  • Tony Lingardo, West Chester (FB, BK, BB)
  • Richard Loewenstine, West Chester (WR)
  • Harry Robinson, New Carlisle (XC, TF)

, , ,

Comments are closed.