By 1808Delaware; Office of Governor DeWine news release

Ohio Governor Mike DeWine has announced that more than 900 additional schools will receive state funding support for physical safety and security upgrades as part of the latest round of Ohio’s K-12 School Safety Grant Program.

Governor DeWine made the announcement Thursday morning while visiting Lakewood High School in Cuyahoga County, which is one of 945 schools that will receive a combined $68 million in grants as part of the fourth round of the program. A fifth round of funding will be announced in coming weeks.

A total of 30 Delaware County schools received a total of $1,654,005 in funding.

A total of $112 million was allocated for the fourth and fifth rounds of the grant program by the Ohio General Assembly as part of House Bill 45, which was signed by Governor DeWine last month. The investment more than doubles the initial allotment of $105 million for the program provided by Ohio’s operating budget and the American Rescue Plan Act.

“When we created the K-12 School Safety Grant Program, we expected that the need for funding would far exceed the amount of money available, but I vowed to go back to the legislature and ask for more,” said Governor DeWine. “Now, with the generous support of the Ohio General Assembly, I’m proud to announce that every single qualifying school that applied for a grant will receive funding.”

So far, a total of $173 million has been awarded to 2,374 Ohio K-12 schools to help pay for physical security expenses such as new security cameras, public address systems, automatic door locks, visitor badging systems, and exterior lighting. Eligible schools could receive as much as $100,000 per building.

The Ohio Facilities Construction Commission is administering the program in partnership with the Ohio School Safety Center.

As part of his executive budget proposal presented to the Ohio General Assembly this week, Governor DeWine is also requesting funding to help schools with the cost of staffing a school resource officer.

Delaware County schools receiving funding and the amounts awarded are as follows:

Big Walnut Local

  • Big Walnut Elementary School $ 38,264
  • Big Walnut Intermediate School $ 52,340
  • Big Walnut Middle School$ 73,929
  • General Rosecrans Elementary $ 16,681
  • Hylen Souders Elementary School $ 47,791

Olentangy Local

  • Alum Creek Elementary School 1 $ 50,000
  • Arrowhead Elementary School 1$ 75,000
  • Berkshire Middle School 1 $ 75,000
  • Cheshire Elementary 1 $ 75,000
  • Freedom Trail Elementary $ 50,000
  • Glen Oak Elementary School $ 50,000
  • Heritage Elementary School $ 75,000
  • Hyatts Middle School $ 50,000
  • Indian Springs Elementary $ 50,000
  • Johnnycake Corners Elementary School $ 50,000
  • Liberty Tree Elementary School $ 50,000
  • Oak Creek Elementary School $ 50,000
  • Olentangy Berlin High School $ 50,000
  • Olentangy High School $ 75,000
  • Olentangy Liberty High School $ 50,000
  • Olentangy Liberty Middle School $ 50,000
  • Olentangy Meadows Elementary School $ 50,000
  • Olentangy Orange Middle School $ 50,000
  • Olentangy Shanahan Middle School $ 75,000
  • Olentangy Orange High School $ 50,000
  • Scioto Ridge Elementary School $ 50,000
  • Shale Meadows Elementary School $ 75,000
  • Tyler Run Elementary School $ 50,000
  • Walnut Creek Elementary $ 50,000
  • Wyandot Run Elementary School $ 50,000
Image by Werner Moser from Pixabay

Become a 1808Delaware Newsroom Partner and support
independent media in Delaware County. Details here.

You May Also Like

MTSO Using “Hyflex” Educational Model For Fall Semester

COVID-19 Information | MTSO Beginning with the Fall Semester, we are offering…

Local Program To Boost Academic Performance Gets A Financial Boost

The Ohio Department of Education has announced the grantees awarded federal funding…

Buckeye Valley Board Seeks Community Input

There are five questions on the mind of members of the Buckeye…

Olentangy Schools Board Meeting Overview

Issues discussed and decisions made during their Board of Education meeting held on August 24.